Twelve Europeans on shortlist for FIH Stars awards

Twelve European players have been named on the shortlist for the FIH Stars awards where 20 top hockey athletes are hoping to win the FIH Best Player and the FIH Best Goalkeeper Awards of the Year.

In the women’s player shortlist, Belgium’s Charlotte Englebert, the Netherlands’ Xan de Waard and Germany’s Sonja Zimmerman

The men’s shortlist has Dutch star Thierry Bribnkman, England’s Zach Wallace and Germany’s Niklas Wellen.

For the goalkeeping awards, Josine Koning (Netherlands) and Germany’s Julia Sonntag are in the women’s final five and the men’s list features Pirmin Blaak (Netherlands), Jean-Paul Danneberg from Germany, England’s Ollie Payne and Belgium’s Vincent Vanasch.

The list of nominees was established by an Expert Panel composed of players, former players, coaches and officials selected by each of their Continental Federations. 

Every international match played in 2023 has been considered (all international events and official test matches), and match data was shared with the Expert Panel before establishing the final list of nominees.

The voting process is now open! National Associations – represented by their respective national teams’ captains and coaches -, fans, players, coaches, officials and media can register their vote until 11 December (23:59 CET).

Anyone wishing to vote simply has to open a 100% FREE “FIH Family” account and, by doing so, will benefit from exclusive content and perk.

The votes of the Expert Panel count for 40% of the overall result. Those from National Associations count for a further 20%. The fans and other players (20%) as well as the media (20%) will make the remaining 40%.

·  Fans and players can cast their vote here

·  Media can cast their vote here

Only one vote per Award is accepted.

List of Awards:

  • FIH Player of the Year (Women and Men)
  • FIH Goalkeeper of the Year (Women and Men)
  • FIH Rising Star of the Year (Women and Men)*
  • FIH Coach of the Year (Women and Men)**
  • FIH Umpire of the Year (Women and Men)***

* Not for vote – Due to the timing of both FIH Hockey Junior World Cups – Women and Men – the FIH Rising Star of the Year Awards will be given to the Best Player of these two events
** Not for vote – The Expert Panel will decide the winners of the FIH Coach of the Year Awards
*** Not for vote – The FIH Umpiring Committee will decide the winners of the FIH Umpire of the Year Awards

The winners of all Awards will be announced on 19 December 2023.

The list of previous winners is available on

Share article